Champagne Buffet

Loving to Hate GameStop

gamestop_logo.jpg

Many of you already know my love/hate relationship with GameStop. Last November I declared WAR on GameStop dba EBGames due to their handling of their XBox 360 pre-sales. Their definition of “pre-sale” departs somewhat from what I have seen by other retailers. Their version of it goes like this: they take my money for the sale, and then do the opposite of reserving an XBox 360 for me out of their pre-sale inventory. To make it worse, they were selling “bundled” systems on their website while still having outstanding pre-sale deliveries.

I cancelled my pre-sale order, wrote a letter to the CEO of GameStop, wrote a letter to the Better Business Bureau, discussed my disappointment with my local District Manager, and promptly purchased my system from CompUSA.

This year I am giving my pre-sale business to amazon.com.

Anyway, the post below comes to use from GoNintendo.com. Apparently GameStop is engaging in all new pre-sale hijinks. Click on the link below to listen to a GameStop customer service call that explains how it works.

I think GameStop is an idiot company and that all of the executives should be fired immediately for severe incompetence.

———
From GoNintendo:

We are all very familiar with the GameStop trial program going on in Hawaii and Guam. Basically you trade in $50 worth of games, and you are allowed to reserve a PS3 or Wii. I believe the event only lasted a week, and it should be over now. Regardless of that, people aren’t happy about the idea. If this trial run works out well, GameStop will then consider bringing it to the US.

Reader Jon sent me an audio clip of someone voicing their opinion about the preorder trade-in mess. The audio clip is done as a joke, but the point of it is to get info out of GameStop as to what is exactly going on with this deal. These guys are exactly right…if we don’t like this idea, and we don’t want to see it happen in the US, then we have to let GameStop/EB know. Make sure to click the link below to download the clip.

GameStop trade-in call (funny, yet informative!)

(Via Go Nintendo.)

September 23, 2006 - Posted by | Technology

4 Comments »

  1. Go AMAZON!

    Comment by George | September 24, 2006 | Reply

  2. […] I told you guys back in September. Don’t put any faith in Game Stop. They are idiot whores when it comes to pre-ordering. Although amazon.com did let me down this year with the their MIA pre-ordering, they at least didn’t take orders that they couldn’t fulfill. […]

    Pingback by GameStop cannot fill PS3 preorders « Champagne Buffet | November 13, 2006 | Reply

  3. I take it back. I am NOT giving my business to amazon.com this year. They have yet to open up pre-ordering. Plus, my Gears of War game still hasn’t arrived. GRRRRR! At least they are not Game Stop. That should be a motto many businesses use actually, “At Least We Are Not Game Stop”.

    Comment by David | November 13, 2006 | Reply

  4. I enjoy reading through an article that will make men and women think.
    Also, thank you for allowing me to comment!

    Comment by dungeon hunter 4 cheats | October 11, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

